Skip to content

Jewelry Box

1 julio, 2014

Caitlin Clarkson Illustration Blog

I’ve been on a gem kick lately. It started when my boyfriend and I decided to get membership passes to the Natural History Museum in Los Angeles. Every time we visit, there’s one spot I have to go- past the oarfish and the coelacanth, tucked away in the back of the mineral hall, are a few cases with raw and cut gems, side by side. There’s something wonderful about being able to see them together, the rough dramatic shapes and the smooth polished ones, each beautiful in their own ways. The last time we went I photographed my favorites, and settled back in at home to paint them.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I like them as stand alone pieces, but also wanted to try putting them together. I also went back and added plaques around their names.

ImageAnd I liked that so much, I went ahead and made patterns out of them.Image

Image

Image

Bigger pictures…

Ver la entrada original 43 palabras más

From → Sin categoría

Dejar un comentario

Responder

